“The Seven Deadly Sins was once an active group of knights in the region of Britannia who disbanded after they supposedly plotted to overthrow the Liones Kingdom. Their supposed defeat came at the hands of the Holy Knights, but rumors continued to persist that they were still alive. Ten years later, the Holy Knights staged a coup d’état and captured the king, becoming the new, tyrannical rulers of the kingdom. The third princess, Elizabeth, then starts out on a journey to find the Seven Deadly Sins and enlist their help in taking back the kingdom from the Holy Knights.”

“I wanted to protect everything. But I failed, and that’s the sin I bare. So this time, I can’t fail to protect them!”

Meliodas is the leader of the Seven Deadly Sins and the Sin of Wrath with the symbol of the Dragon. He is the main protagonist of the Nanatsu no Taizai and the owner of the Boar Hat bar.

“You, humans, are so full of yourselves just because there are so many of you!”

Diane is the Serpent’s Sin of Envy of the Seven Deadly Sins. She is a member of the Giant Clan and is thus much larger than ordinary people.

“A real sin cannot be erased, no matter what you do.”

BAN is Fox’s Sin of Greed of the Seven Deadly Sins. After the group’s disbandment, Ban was initially imprisoned in the Baste Dungeon but escaped when he discovered that Meliodas was still alive. His Sacred Treasure is the Holy Rod Courechouse. On top of being immortal (albeit not anymore), he is known for his ability, Snatch.

“No matter how much power you have, there’s a limit to everything.”

King is the Grizzly’s Sin of Sloth of the Seven Deadly Sins. His real name is Fairy King Harlequin as he protects the Fairy King’s Forest and the rest of the Fairy Realm. His Sacred Treasure is the Spirit Spear Chastiefol, which he uses in conjunction with his inherent power, Disaster.

“Memories are merely information. Creating or erasing them is not difficult. What I want to understand is the “emotion” that reached beyond them.”

Gowther is the Goat’s Sin of Lust of the Seven Deadly Sins. Gowther was revealed to be a doll, created by a great wizard, and is a former member of the Ten Commandments, serving as his creator’s proxy during his time with the Commandments. His Sacred Treasure is the Twin Bow, Herritt, which he uses in conjunction with his inherent power, Invasion.


“INFINITY” That is the magic power I possess.”


Merlin is the Boar’s Sin of Gluttony of the Seven Deadly Sins. She is regarded as the greatest mage in Britannia. Her Sacred Treasure is the Morning StarAldan, a floating orb she can summon at will and often uses in conjunction with her spells and her inherent power Infinity. The name “Merlin” is actually an alias as her true name is unpronounceable to humans.

“Why would I hate someone that’s weaker than me? I only pity them”

Escanor is Lion’s Sin of Pride of the Seven Deadly Sins. He is renowned for gaining immense power during the day, and gradually becoming weaker with the setting of the sun, leaving him frail and submissive at night. His Sacred Treasure is the Divine Axe, Rhitta. His inherent power is named Sunshine.

This anime became one of my favorites too. So far the plot is surprisingly different and rare compared to other animes. The characters are refreshing and interesting.  The fights are clean with blends of sentiments and a drop of humor.

Everyone has their own special powers with different idealistic mindset. There was no boredom moment, the pace managed a perfect balance of the sequence.

Verdict: 10/10

For more anime reviews, click here https://anavenblog.com/category/my-anime/


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s