MIDLIFE CHANGES

As I cross the milestone of 40, I find myself in a significant transformation, physically, emotionally and mentally. I’m in my second half of time and that makes me ponder with concern.

One of the most noticeable changes I discover about myself is I tend to be irritated and annoyed for minor infractions. My mind detests this attitude, but sometimes I just couldn’t stop them.

On the positive side, I no longer engage much in senseless arguments and debates. I am becoming more understanding and sensitive about my responses and reactions. I think relationships take priority as I become more aware of the value of my loved ones and friends. I learn to prioritize experiences and relationships.

The priorities I had in my 30s are in momentous adjustments too. My career goals have been shifted from high ambition to stability. I might feel less motivated to reach for other goals. I am brooding now about my retirement and funeral plans. I am scared of what is there at the end of the tunnel.

I could sense that my memory was not as sharp as before. I lost some words in the middle of a conversation, and sometimes I can hardly recall past memories. Also, I need to take notes on some important things to do at work because I’m afraid I might forget the next day. With this, it forces me to do regular exercise, explore new passions, and engage in creative mind pursuits.

I know that behind this change there is a biological factor that will never be controlled. These changes are inevitable, but they shouldn’t be daunting, right? Since I have already acknowledged these changes, I will try to focus on my personal growth while battling the fear of transformation.

We need self-care and support from others. You and I are not alone in this.

4 comments

  1. tx much for visiting my site. I love anything to do with books & would be thrilled if you’d write a guest blog post for my site, which is for anyone who enjoys writing, or books, and all the arts. If you think it might be fun or helpful to have my followers (who total about 10k across my various social media) meet you, here’s the link for general guidelines: https://wp.me/p6OZAy-1eQ – best, da-AL

    Like

Leave a comment